The Cartagena Convention

Cartagena Convention is the term used to refer to the Convention for the Protection and Development of the Marine Environment in the Wider Caribbean Region. It is a comprehensive agreement for the protection and development of the marine environment.

The Convention provides the legal framework for cooperative regional and national actions in the wider Caribbean region.  The Convention requires countries to adopt measures to prevent, reduce and control airborne pollution and pollution from:

  • ships;
  • dumping;
  • sea-bed activities; and
  • land-based sources and activities.

This is achieved through the following protocols:

  1. Oil Spills Protocol;
  2. Specially Protected Areas and Wildlife Protocol; and
  3. Land-based Sources of Marine Pollution.

The EPD implements and raises awareness about the provisions of the Convention.

To learn more about the Cartagena Convention click here.



The Integrating Water, Land and Ecosystems Management in Caribbean Small Island Developing States (GEF-IWEco) Project

The Integrating Water, Land and Ecosystems Management in Caribbean Small Island Developing States (GEF-IWEco) Project is a multi-focal, regional project that builds upon the work of previous initiatives, to address water, land and biodiversity resource management as well as climate change in ten participating countries.

IWEco is funded by the Global Environment Facility (GEF) and UN Environment (UNEP) is the lead Implementing Agency for national and regional sub-projects. The UN Development Programme also implements some activities aimed at supporting community-based livelihood opportunities through the GEF-Small Grants Programme.

The Secretariat to the Cartagena Convention, UN Environment’s Caribbean Regional Coordinating Unit (CAR/RCU) and the Caribbean Public Health Agency (CARPHA) are the Project’s co-Executing Agencies. Partnership is a central tenet of the project which is being implemented through a network of international, regional and national partners.

The ten participating countries are: Antigua & BarbudaBarbadosCubathe Dominican RepublicGrenadaJamaicaSaint Kitts & NevisSaint LuciaSaint Vincent & the Grenadines, and; Trinidad & Tobago.

IWEco started in 2016 and is due to end in 2023. For more information please visit



Download Forms & Resources


This web site uses files in Adobe Acrobat Portable Document Format Adobe Reader Required (pdf). This format is particularly useful for forms or newsletter where the layout and formatting need to be preserved on the screen or printer. To view or print these files you must install the free Adobe Reader. Click here to download it now!